Search Help
Album Only
RPM070 | 2018-09-21  
Reel People are back. Back to their roots. Back to the future. Back with a bang. Eagerly awaited new album Retroflection is out on October 19th and sees the revered collective recreating 12 soul, disco and boogie classics pivotal to their formation nearly 20 years ago and subsequent hugely successful evolution. Band leader Oli Lazarus has gathered a stellar cast of musicians and singers, - the likes of Angie Stone, Mica Paris, Omar, Tony Momrelle, Navasha Daya, Anthony David, LaSharVu and Sharlene Hector breathing fresh and irresistible life into seminal grooves by Maze, Evelyn 'Champagne' King and Teena Marie among others.

Before the long player drops, Reel People give us a taster of what's to come with the luscious single Buttercup.

Reel People team up with regular collaborator Tony Momrelle to revisit Carl Anderson's mid-Eighties gem Buttercup (written and produced by Stevie Wonder) with considerable finesse.

Retroflection is Reel People's first full studio album in 10 years (following acclaimed releases Second Guess and Seven Ways To Wonder, as well as compilation work including Golden Lady), Retroflection reflects the highest possible level of passion and polish. Such soulful devotion and craftmanship has ever been a Reel People hallmark. Recorded in London and Atlanta over an intense 12-month period, Retroflection also avoids the formulaic overload of modern beats and basslines that countless others pursue. Here the past is artfully reawakened, Reel People's talented cast of performers - overseen by experienced studio-hands Lazarus, Mike Patto, Matt Cooper (of Incognito fame) and Toni Economides - re-treading classic riffs with new yet respectful purpose. Their compelling neo-soul blend of now and then should awe diehards and newcomers alike. Retroflection is one hell of a return.

Taken from the album Reel People - Retroflection.

Produced by Mike Patto
Co-produced by Oli Lazarus & Toni Economides
Lead Vocals by Tony Momrelle
Backing Vocals by Tony Momrelle, Tasha LaRae & Maleke O'Ney
Drum Programming by Mike Patto, Oli Lazarus & Toni Economides
Drums by Ernie Mckone
Piano, Rhodes & Keyboards by Mike Patto
Bass by Ernie Mckone
Guitar by Tony Remy
Percussion by Crispin 'Spry' Robinson
Trombone by Trevor Mires
Trumpet by Sid Gauld
Saxophone & Flute by Graeme Blevins
Horns transcribed by Robin Lee

Recording Engineers - Toni Economides, Matt Cooper, Ernie Mckone, Chris Franck & Mike Patto.
Mixed by Toni Economides @ Bambu Studios, London.
Mastered by Nigel Palmer @ Lowland Masters

A&R by Oli Lazarus
P&C 2018 Reel People Music Ltd

For more info on all of our releases go to

Make Default

Embed a player for
Copy the above code and paste it into your website or blog.
© 2002-2020 Traxsource, Inc.

Add New Cart