Album Only

Simple 50th

Will Saul, Tam Cooper

SIMPLE114950 | 2011-03-07  
Simple celebrates it's 50th single release in the new year (and each one of those 50 have been released on that wonderful black stuff known to old people as vinyl). A release that will see the founder, A&R, label manager and tea boy Will Saul and his long term production partner Tam Cooper team up for a limited edition gatefold vinyl double pack EP (yep, they’ll loose loads of money but not many people get to 50 vinyl releases without loosing their house, car and mind... so we think its worth celebrating). The release will feature 4 new tracks from Will & Tam with remixes from Wolf + Lamb & Slow Hands, Sideshow and Art Department (Jonny White & Kenny Glasgow). Since its birth in 2003, Simple Records has been fueling dancefloors the world over with deep, dynamic house, compelling techno and flashes of many other genres. Totally unconcerned with the transient constraints of genre and entirely fixated on uncovering music that is both timeless and forward-thinking Simple has never fallen into one particular genre trap and under Will’s A&R’ing has won a reputation for delivering simply great electronic music with a focus on soul and irresistible melody. Over the years the label has worked with many of electronic music’s finest artists, including Motorcitysoul, Fink, James Priestley & Dan Berkson, Jesse Rose, Mathew Jonson, I:Cube, Gui Borrato, Mike Monday, Ian Pooley, Steve Bug, Deetron, Sebo K, Adultnapper, Adam Marshall and many many more. Saul’s approach to DJ’ing sees him tread the moving waters between techno, dub, house, disco, dubstep and far beyond. His 3 disc Balance compilation last year enabled him to showcase his wide range of musical loves. His albums for the label includes ‘Simple One’, the first label compilation that elegantly encapsulated the sound of Simple, his critically acclaimed debut album ‘Space Between’, a journey geared towards home listening rather than the dancefloor and ‘Simple Sounds’ where he attempted to blur the distinction between the traditional artist LP and DJ mix. Will’s next artist album is fast approaching completion and will see the light of day in spring 2011 and will feature collabs with Fink, Joe Dukie (Fat Freddie's Drop) Charlene Soraia (new signing to Peacefrog), Detachments and Paul St.Hilaire. As well as being one of Will’s oldest and closest friends Tam Cooper is a studio engineer par excellence, who over the years has worked with a range of artists from Bushwacka! and Terry Francis to Grooverider and Mr.C. He is also the man behind the now legendary live breaks act Precision Cuts. First up on remix duties are Art Department, hot on the heels of their monster debut hit 'Without You' (voted No.1 single of 2011 in Groove) on Crosstown Rebels who turn the tempo down and the sleaze up. Another Simple mainstay the dub master, Sideshow, toughs out his version with a driving bassline and some cheeky dubwise rhythm changes. NYC based juggernauts Wolf+Lamb, and their protégé Slow Hands, bring their magic wonky disco touch to the more upbeat title track. All the artwork for this project (there will also be a limited edition A2 poster and T-Shirt) has been lovingly created by Michael Place of Build who is behind the visual identity of Simple (and sister label Aus Music). Place was also one of the founders of Designers Republic who have produced all the Warp artwork from day one. The double pack will be available in a very limited run of 500 so best to get in quick for a piece of this label's history!

Make Default

Embed a player for
Copy the above code and paste it into your website or blog.
© 2002-2020 Traxsource, Inc.

Add New Cart