Search Help
Album Only

Sweet & Sour


Restless Soul
RSDIGILP001 | 2009-06-26  
New release on restless soul music - Phil Asher presents Focus - Sweet & Sour - Available for the first time on digital download...

Previously released on Cd & Vinyl restless soul present you the digital release of the acclaimed FOCUS Sweet & Sour Lp. Featuring Artists like Maiya James, Seiji, Andrea Mendez, Kaidi Tatham, Mike Patto, Chris Franck, Mark de Clive Lowe & Felix Hopkins. This star studded Lp Available for the first time digitally. Deep House to electronic experimentation , Soul music to Jazz, Sweet & Sour has it all.

1 Bamba (3:55)
Featuring - Kaidi Tatham (1981 Artisjus)
2 Wha Blo (2:19)
Featuring - Kaidi Tatham , Maiya James (Phlash music /Bittasweet courtesy of
westbury music)
3 Having Your Fun (3:44)
Featuring - Maiya James, Kaidi Tatham (Phlash music/Westbury music)
4 Marvin Is One (7:42)
Featuring - Nathan Haines (Phlash Music/Westbury Music)
5 Bassual (5:48)
Featuring - Maiya James , Mike Patto (Phlash music/Westbury music)
6 Hal (8:04)
Featuring - Mike Patto (Phlash music/Westbury music)
7 Exagr8 (2:38) (Phlash music/Westbury music)
8 Journey To Jupiter (Act 1 The Daughter Of Spazm) (7:01)
Featuring - Seiji & Chris Franck (Phlash music/Westbury music)
9 Never Giving Up (4:40)
Featuring - Maiya James , Mike Patto (Phlash music/Westbury music)
10 Spaceship Rocket (6:02)
Featuring - Mike Patto (Phlash music/Westbury music)
11 Find Myself (6:55)
Featuring - Andrea Mendez (Phlash music/Westbury music)
12 China Bumps (2:29) (Phlash music/Westbury music)
13 Sweet & Sour (6:12)
Featuring - Mark De Clive-Lowe , Peabo Hares ((Phlash music/Westbury music, Mizugaky)

Produced by Phil Asher for restless soul music


Dusty Grooves

The genius of the London scene does it again -- as Phil Asher's mighty talent drives this set of cosmic grooves to the sky! Phil produced and arranged every track on the set -- and the album's a flurry of keyboards, broken beats, detached voices, and some great warm and jazzy instrumentation -- a perfect summation of the Restless Soul sound, wrapped up in an extended package of tracks! Titles include Spaceship Rocket, Marvin Is One, Wha Blo, Bamba, Never Giving Up, Sweet & Sour, Journey To Jupiter, Find Myself, and Bassual.


A classic UK house release that takes the exact counterpoint to the current electroclash tidal wave by rehearsing all things house, reggae, dub, broken and jazz on a combination of thirteen varied tracks that tap equally into the sweet and the sour. The presence of evident singles -Having Your Fun- along some abrasive moments -Spaceship Rocket- is interesting but Asher's knack for instrumental house will loose the less musically inclined in the contemplation of a, seemingly, performatory exercise. Whilst today's all about the cheap thrills, Asher can't fake it and stays true to his roots.

Nrg Music

Phil Asher aka Restless Soul returns under his Focus monniker with a wonderful album of top quality house tunes and some serious West London funk. Thirteen tightly produced cuts in all predominately staying on the deep house tip with a couple venturing into West London nu jazz territory and one delicious slice of deep jazz funk. Kaidi Tatham & Marc De Clive Lowe make special guest appearances on the album and add some incredible live moments to Phils already impeccible production.
More from Restless Soul

Make Default

Embed a player for
Copy the above code and paste it into your website or blog.
© 2002-2024 Traxsource, Inc.

Add New Cart