Search Help
Album Only
TNCL013D | 2012-11-12  
Tone Control Music proudly introduces our new signing 'thatmanmonkz'. This debut EP, the man explores Detroit inspired deep house with jazz, disco and soul influences apparent throughout. Several tracks feature vocalist and multi-instrumentalist, Pete Simpson (Sunburst Band) while title track, The Man takes a heavier sampler/drum machine based route for darker tastes. Ross Orton (Arctic Monkeys/M.I.A.) helps out on mix duties to complete this Steel City showcase.

First off, deep chords ride swinging bass from Sheffield to Detroit and back on that would be alright. Title track the man echoes classic 90's hip hop in a heavy mid-tempo house chugger while alaf on the flip gives you 4/4 jazz styling's laced with Pete's melancholic vocals. To finish of this debut, dreamin blurs genres in a piece that deep and soulful house aficionados should appreciate in equal measure.

Who is thatmanmonkz? Scott 'thatmanmonkz' Moncrieff is a much-hyped DJ who has shared the decks with heavyweights Carl Craig, Grandmaster Flash, Phil Asher, Recloose and Roots Manuva among others. Sharing a flat with Arctic Monkeys and M.I.A producer Ross Orton led to a crash course in production techniques and analogue synths, which inspired him to join forces with Toddla T (Radio 1) to form Small Arms Fiya.

Small Arms Fiya created numerous releases and remixes over their 3 year collaboration which included Jersey Street, Nubian Minds, Roots Manuva, Domu, Mark Rae, The Elektrons and Lo Tek Hi Fi. Their debut EP with Pete Simpson, and follow up with Ayah Marar was received with impressive acclaim from Benji B, Ross Allen and more. Small Arms Fiya re-launched in 2011 after a hiatus which 'monkz used to experiment with new musical directions. Since then he has been busy producing, arranging, remixing and DJing - headlining Sheffield's infamous Kabal Warehouse Party, Cargo, and playing alongside Fatlip from The Pharcyde, Hackman, and Martelo.

With this debut solo release, 'The Man' EP forthcoming on Tone Control Music, imminent 12's from his 'S & M' project with Daniel Swain, and various remix/production duties, expect big things from thatmanmonkz!

All tracks written by Scott Moncrieff, except "alaf" and "dreamin", written by Scott Moncrieff and Pete Simpson. All tracks produced and arranged by Scott Moncrieff at the fiya station except "the man" arranged by Scott Moncrieff and Daniel Swain.
All instruments by Scott Moncrieff, except keys on "alaf" and live bass on "dreamin" by Pete Simpson. Vocals on "that would be alright", "alaf" and "dreamin" by Pete Simpson. Mixed by Scott Moncreiff and Ross Orton aka R.O the rugged bloke. Mastered by Martin Iveson. Artwork design by Haydn Davies.

Check out these great early reactions:

"Dreamin is the WON!!!"
DJ Spinna, Wonderwax (US)

"Great and mental. What a record!!! :-)"
Atjazz (UK)

"It's an excellent EP. All tracks rock. In fact it was hard to find a favourite. Looking forward to dropping this baby!" 5/5
Ashley Beadle (UK)

"This is TOO special... Not for WEAK ears!!! LOVE THE WHOLE EP" 5/5
Vinny Da Vinci, House Afrika, Metro FM (ZA)

"nice all-rounder the whole package!" 5/5
Rainer Trueby, Root Down (DE)

"soundin' sick doood, smack chords, handclaps, and mpc runnin's... thats what i expect and want from thatmanmonkz!"
Toddla T, Radio One (UK)

"Excellent EP. Alaf & Dreamin my faves."
Craig Smith, 6th Borough Project (UK)

"You guys made me pick one BUT they are all super cool!!
N'Dinga Gaba (US)

"Phenomenal debut release taking you on an eclectic journey to soulful underground dance music you wish would never end..."
Mike Fossati, Spirit of House (CH)

"AMAZING project - ALL just killer vibes - Thanks!" 5/5
Brothers Vibe (US)

Make Default

Embed a player for
Copy the above code and paste it into your website or blog.
© 2002-2022 Traxsource, Inc.


Add New Cart