Search Help
Album Only

No Lucky Days (the Remixes)

Webster Wraight Ensemble

MISO041 | 2017-12-05  
A set of remixes of tracks from the Webster Wraight Ensemble album 'No Lucky Days'.

features remixes by ; Pepe Bradock, Kuniyuki, Juju and Jordash, High Skies, 60 Miles, Dean DeCosta and James Duncan.

some project info..

Charles Webster and Peter Wraight, both hailing from rural Derbyshire, met in 1998 for the recording of the Charles Webster written and produced %u2018all systems gone%u2019 long player by Presence (one of Charles%u2019 many pseudonyms), the results were mutually agreeable and they have been working together on and off ever since (including %u2018fox soup%u2019, their first co-write on Charles%u2019 seminal %u2018born on the 24th of july%u2019 album), and after many sessions working together on Charles%u2019 music and dozens of remixes and arrangements for other artists (Peter is the arranger / conductor for the Matthew Herbert big band) they decided it was time to do something together, and this new WWE project is the result and it is an album like nothing you ever heard.

Started in 2014, this collection of songs / instrumentals grew from %u2018two guys sitting in front of a computer thinking about making the music they really wanted to make%u2019 into the fully blown; big band, orchestral, electronic, vocal collection it is today,

Peter%u2019s musical heroes include Quincy Jones, Gil Evans, Billy May, John Barry and Benjamin Britten and they all act as a perfect foil to Charles%u2019 influences of Rickie Lee Jones, Eric Coates, Gil Scott Heron, Thelonius Monk, Steely Dan and the deeper more abstract corners of the electronic music world.

The resulting album consists of seven vocal pieces ( now includes a bonus cover version of Prefab Sprout%u2019s %u2018When Love Breaks Down' ) featuring the voices of Emilie Chick ( whose influences include; Stevie Wonder, Sarah Vaughan, Bjork, Crosby Stills and Nash, P.J Harvey etc ) and Detroits%u2019 Paul Randolph (Jazzanova / Innerzone Orchestra) and 3 instrumentals, the songs take in all manner of subjects and moods, ranging from the very personal to the political.

From the beautiful, classic melodies of %u2018when all is calm%u2019 to the bleak images of %u2018the ruins of Britain%u2019 via the politics of %u2018the vulture%u2019 and %u2018rise%u2019 to love%u2019s disappointment found in %u2018unexpected news%u2019 and the wildfire glory of %u2018nature and light%u2019 this album is a fully realized collection of songs and has the dynamics and flow of an old fashioned %u2018L.P%u2019.

The songs were recorded in London, Nimes, Detroit and Nottingham by Charles and Peter and produced and mixed by Charles on a vintage Neve desk and in his own studio via lot%u2019s of digital stuff, blending the subtle programming and electronics seamlessly with the acoustic instrumentation (see full list of players below).

The project has had amazing support from Jamie Cullum on his weekly BBC radio 2 show, he played 7 tracks from it, effectively giving the project it%u2019s world premiere.

Produced by - Charles Webster.

written by - Webster/Wraight/Chick/Randolph/Macaloon

published by - copyright control(PRS)/bucks/copyright control(sacem)/RVP publishing (BMI)/EMI

composition and arrangements by - Peter Wraight

lyrics by - webster/chick/randolph/macaloon

P&C - Miso Records 2017

photography by - c. Webster

artwork by Makermet

Album Recording musicians.


Stuart Brooks - Brooks

Graham Russell

Adam Linsley

Andrew Lofthouse


Gordon Campbell -

Ashley Horton

Chris Cole

John Higginbotham ( bass )


Howard McGill

Dave O'Higgins -

Judith O'Higgins


Peter Wraight - Wraight

David Roberts ( clarinet 1 )


Peter Hamilton

Russell Swift

Geof Pearson


Peter Wraight

Paul K Joyce -


The Magdala Choir


Brian Wilson

Acoustic Drums.

George Double

Drum Programming / Samples / Keys.

Charles Webster %u2013 / / Webster


Emilie Chick

Paul Randolph (Jazzanova / Innerzone Orchestra etc..)
More from Miso

Make Default

Embed a player for
Copy the above code and paste it into your website or blog.
© 2002-2020 Traxsource, Inc.

Add New Cart