Search Help
Album Only

A Simple Design

The Juan Maclean

DFTD467D | 2015-08-31  
A collaboration between US musician John MacLean and former LCD Soundsystem vocalist Nancy Whang, The Juan MacLean has dynamically taken the sound of his former band, Six Finger Satellite, to the dancefloor, retaining flashes of post-punk and '70s experimental electronics while grafting bits of early Euro-disco, electro, Detroit techno, and Chicago house. A handful of The Juan MacLean singles, including DFA highlights ‘You Can't Have It Both Ways’ and ‘Give Me Every Little Thing’, led to 2005's debut LP ‘Less Than Human’, with ‘The Future Will Come’ following in 2009, preceded by the enthusiastically received ‘Happy House’ and ‘The Simple Life’. 2014 saw the release of The Juan MacLean’s third studio album ‘In A Dream’ which featured ‘A Simple Design’, arguably their most affecting record to date which now sees a release on Defected Records. "It's amazing for me to be releasing ‘A Simple Design’ with Defected” says Juan. “I've watched the label grow over many years and the music just gets cooler and cooler. The variety of what those guys do now suits someone like me. At the same time, I'm always battling the perception of people that what I do is 'nu disco'. I've always been close to house and techno and Defected's outlook helps me here.”

In addition to the original version and Deetron’s remix, Purple Disco Machine and Jesse Rose deliver fresh remixes, adding further weight to the package. "I'm cool with people interpreting my music as they need to. As it goes, the remixes of ‘A Simple Design’ are pieces of music that I'd be happy playing myself so I'm really supportive of them.”

Originally released on James Murphy’s DFA Records last year, a label with which The Juan MacLean have long been associated, the original version of ‘A Simple Design’ was praised by music authorities Resident Advisor, Pitchfork and The Quietus, while Stereogum described the record as “production of the highest order. It actually sounds like a very complicated design, but like all good engineering, the end product feels effortless.”

The Juan Maclean ‘A Simple Design’

1. A Simple Design
2. A Simple Design (Purple Disco Machine Remix)
3. A Simple Design (Deetron Remix)
4. A Simple Design (Jesse Rose Remix)
5. A Simple Design (Jesse Rose ‘Close Your Eyes’ Dub)

Written by John Maclean, Nicholas Alexander Millhiser & Nancy Whang
Produced by John Maclean & Nicholas Alexander Millhiser
Drums, Tambourine & Claps by Jim Orso
Guitars, Claps, SDS8, 2600, Juno 106 & D50 by Juan Maclean
Prophet 5 & SH101 by Morgan Wiley
Vocals by Nancy Whang
Micro Q, Rogue & CS80 by Nicholas Millhiser
Track 2 Remix & Additional Production by Purple Disco Machine
Track 3 Remix & Additional Production by Deetron
Track 4 & 5 Remix & Additional Production by Jesse Rose
Published by Half Machine Publishing sub published by Kobalt Music & Copyright Control
Track 1 & 3 P&C 2014 Defected Records Limited under exclusive license from DFA Records/[PIAS] Cooperative
Track 2, 4 & 5 P&C 2015 Defected Records Limited under exclusive license from DFA Records/[PIAS] Cooperative
More from Defected

Make Default

Embed a player for
Copy the above code and paste it into your website or blog.
© 2002-2023 Traxsource, Inc.

Add New Cart