Search Help
Album Only

Syrup Plate EP


Prospekt (IRL)
PROSPEKT001 | 2020-08-07  
Irish techno collective Prospekt launches its first release with a heavy-hitting EP by Scottish-born producer and live artist Ingen. The four-track collection includes two original productions by the man himself, a gnarly mutation from JoeFarr and a chilling remix supplied by Ike Dusk.

Staying true to the aesthetic of Prospekt, Ingen has managed to pull off an unforgiving mix of blistering techno for the collective’s first foray into running a record label. ‘Syrup Plate’ mirrors the title of the EP and marks the opening track. Do not expect to be eased in here; it’s a concoction of clattering drums that fall into a menacing breakdown, adding to the bubbling tension throughout the track. With an unwavering whack of distortion, 'Syrup Plate' is a nightmarish amalgam of noise and showcases Ingen’s brutal approach to producing.

‘Bark of Dog’ follows suit with a chugger of an intro. It’s a far cry from the chaos of the previous track but conjures up some much-needed breathing space. Crisp hi-hats, a broken drum pattern and overall gritty texture, ‘Bark of Dog’ leans towards the leftfield side of Ingen’s aesthetic.

UX founder JoeFarr brings the pace back up again with his take on 'Syrup Plate’. Joe's interpretation maintains a sense of unease and transports the listener out of their comfort zone and into the void. Laced with an abrasive lead that builds up to a heavy residual atmosphere, the remix fits in well and complements the overall tone of the EP.

German producer Ike Dusk completes the release with a stripped-back remix of ‘Bark of Dog’. It’s a swirler of a track that balances out the urgency of the previous productions. With a 4/4 structure, Ike’s version ends the EP on a storming dance-floor orientated note.

As a team which supports artists who go full pelt in music production, Prospekt has set the bar high for what is to come, further down the line. A wealth of support from Manni Dee, Umwelt, Swarm Intelligence, Lag, Jamie Behan, Nico Moreno, The Brvtalist, New Frames, Sept, Twan and Felicie has already come through for the collective’s first release.

Make Default

Embed a player for
Copy the above code and paste it into your website or blog.
© 2002-2022 Traxsource, Inc.


Add New Cart