Search Help
Album Only

Twinkling Stars

Michael A

Proton Music
PROTON0463 | 2020-06-05  
Hitting the heights on a regular basis, over 800 production credits sit proudly next to Michael A's name for the likes of Sudbeat, Mango Alley and Replug. Particles and Proton Music have also been a regular home for the Belarusian with a further three original EPs between February 2017's "Bright Hope" debut and May 2019's "Geometria". Returning with "Twinkling Stars", the title track is a typically impressive affair with deep, rolling groove and seismic bass prowess. Building with ease a smooth arpeggio drifts into sonic range with its glittering delays. Aptly titled, shimmering motifs glisten across the track's powerful rhythmic framework, juxtaposed elegantly against the lighter melodic elements. "Vibrance" continues Michael A's penchant for deep bass prowess, anchored tightly to an exquisite shuffling percussive top-line that adds dancefloor dynamism. Before long, a simple motif comes into play to add hypnotic texture while sumptuous pads supply depth and intrigue that build into a post-breakdown illustrating Michael's skill and craft.

Matty Doyle is a modern production heavyweight. Through his Matter moniker, the Australian has built a sizeable reputation for himself with a plethora of high-profile releases and DJ performances across the globe in London, Amsterdam and his Melbourne hometown. A host of releases on Proton Music in solo and collaborative guises – often with long-term friend and production partner, GMJ – has seen Matter release music of the very highest order that saw the 2016's "Pronoia" and 2017's "We Are Dust" EPs bolster his reputation. Returning to remix Michael A after a February 2019 reworking of Embliss' "Lone Wolf", Matter takes "Twinkling Stars" on a trademark journey of power, precision and smooth bassline dominance. Using the remix parts to creative effect, combined with a bevy of additional material, the result is a sparkling offering that grows in detail with each passing minute as filters and delays open up into a glorious breakdown crescendo of melodic passion. Continuing into the latter stages with ease, the result is near nine minutes of sonic perfection.

Janko Dragovic is another name steeped in underground music history. As originally part of the Progress Inn duo, Dragovic's success under his Desaturate pseudonym is no less impressive. Moreover, collaborations with Rick Pier O'Neil, and Forniva on Particles has seen Desaturate amass an impressive collection of original music while May 2016's "The Unholy Mountain" was a high-quality 3-track solo outing. January 2018's "Wanderer" saw a powerful Proton debut as a remix of Huminal's "Macropsia" in April 2019 is now followed by a compelling reworking of "Vibrance" characterised by a smooth bouncing bassline groove and syncopated percussion. Building effortlessly using themes resonant in the original, new melodic flourishes emerge that shimmer in rich delays. Hitting its stride post-breakdown, a filtered and modulated arpeggio comes to the fore to provide a dynamic vibrancy to the latter stages.

Originals from Michael A combined with remixes from Matter and Desaturate keep "Twinkling Stars" in ascendance.

Directed by Jay Epoch
AandR by James Warren
Mastered by Cid Inc., Desaturate
Design by Ben Mautner
Text by James Warren

Make Default

Embed a player for
Copy the above code and paste it into your website or blog.
© 2002-2020 Traxsource, Inc.

Add New Cart