Search Help
Album Only

Top Progressive Artists of 2019

Progressive House is back in a big way. A debut to our end of year lists, it felt like the right time to shed light on a staple nightclub sound that’s been growing rapidly recently and once again becoming an essential part of the late night club environment. Euphoric, peak time dancefloor cuts dominated our Progressive House charts this year, tunes like Camelphat’s ‘Be Someone’ and ARTBAT’s ‘Upperground’, which held people’s attention (and spots in the main charts) for most of the year.

A genre characterized by pulsating rhythms, haunting vocals and emotive 4/4, our top Progressive players are affiliates of labels like Diynamic, Anjunadeep and Stil Vor Talent, and are widely varied, yet all international successes on a global scale, from talent on the rise like Marsh and Durante to scene favourites Dosem, Oliver Koletzski and Camelphat.

Welcome to the Progressive House Top 100 for 2019..
65. Zaki
58. Arco
47. 16BL
26. Sabb
Ellum Audio affiliate Dino Lenny has had a steady release year, pushing out tracks via prestigious labels including Damian Lazarus’s Crosstown Rebels, Sven Väth’s Cocoon, Ellum Audio and King Street. It was his collaboration with ARTBAT however that really caught our attention for one of the strongest selling EPs in the Progressive genre in 2019 - ‘Upperground’ via Solomun’s Diynamic Music. The versatile producer still has further originals and remixes set to drop before the end of the year on the likes of Hfn, King Street and Nein Records and we’re expecting even more heat from the Italian over the next 12 months.
Kevin Durante is a name we expect to be seeing a lot more of over the next few years. The young producer has been making a lot of noise via Amtrac’s OPENERS label, with releases like ‘Maia’ and ‘Restless’, plus ‘Taos Hum’ via This Never Happened. His personal brand of emotive electronic music has landed him a spot on the coveted WME agency, and a busy tour schedule this year that’s seen him share the bill with Hot Since 82, Doc Martin, Bonobo and Art Department, and we’re certain he’s a definite one to watch.
Berlin based Soul Button has been turning heads in his local scene and beyond this year with his unique ‘Ethereal Techno’. Standout releases this year included ‘Buoyant’, ‘Ardor’ and ‘Metamorphosis’ and 2019 also saw him drop his debut album ‘Phantom Existence’. A DJ, producer and two time label owner, for Steyoyoke and Inner Symphony, the German has certainly been keeping busy and we have no doubt we haven’t seen the best of him yet.
A heavy touring schedule this year has taken Koletzki across the globe, from Amsterdam’s DGTL festival to Zurich’s Hive club, Sydney’s Home and everywhere in between. The Stil Vor Talent founder landed 4 tracks in the Traxsource top 200 for 2019, remixes of Giorgia Angiuli’s ‘Nothing To Lose’ and Sam Shure’s ‘Nandoo’ along with his own ‘Camps Bay’, whilst also releasing a massive album of original material towards the end of the year ‘Fire In The Jungle’ via his own imprint. We’re predicting full steam ahead for the German in 2020.
The Spaniard has always been known for producing deep, well-crafted and textured electronic music and has built up a reputation over the last decade being affiliated with some of the scenes best Tech House and Techno labels, including Stereo Productions, Toolroom, Truesoul, Tronic. More recently as his sound has shifted in a more progressive, melodic direction he's found a new home via Anjunabeats offshoot, Anjunadeep. His Anjunadeep output this year has been stand out, his 'All Locations' EP being received particularly well in the Progressive genre, along with 'Externalizer' - the 49th best-selling Progressive track of the year on the site 'All Locations' and 'Not A Coincidence' also making it into the top 200. And with big remixes on the way before the end of the year, he was an obvious choice for the top 10.
A staple member of the Anjunadeep family, Yotto has used the platform to launch himself to dizzying heights over recent years. Support on his music coming in from the likes of Sasha, Laurent Garnier, Jamie Jones, Kölsch, Patrice Baumel and Adriatique, and with 5 Pete Tong Essential New Tunes​, Yotto is truly a superstar in the making. 2019 saw the Finnish producer tally up 4 tracks in the top 200 via Anjunadeep, One One Out and Lane 8's This Never Happened imprint, with highlights like 'Turn It Around', 'Shifter' and his Mirage remix of 'The One You Left Behind'​​.​
It's been an unparalleled year for the Ukranian DJ / Production duo formed of DJ Artur and Batish, with a massive 5 tunes in the top 200. Predominantly pushing their output via two of Europe's prominent electronic labels Diynamic and Watergate, the Kiev-based DJs were also the heads behind our #2 Progressive track of the year 'Upperground', their collaboration with Dino Lenny (on Diynamic) that dominated the charts for months. 'Atlas', from the same EP landed the #4 spot and their remixes of Monolink and Whomadewho also doing serious chart damage.
Ohio-based Brit Marsh has retained momentum this year, keeping busy releasing and touring the UK and USA with the Anjunadeep brand. He dropped several top-selling releases in the Progressive genre over the course of the year, with 4 entries in the genre top 200: '1992', 'Estes', 'Eu Phoria' and 'Follow Me', all via Anjuna. We're expecting bigger and better things from the Brighton-born artist over the next 12 months, watch this space!
It’s been a big year for Stan Kolev. His label Outta Limits (which he co-owns with Matan Caspi alongside DJing and producing) put out a healthy 38 releases this year, and a large majority of that output was original music from Kolev himself. The Bulgarian’s stand-out material over the past year included ‘We Become’ on Kevin McKay’s Glasgow Underground (charted at #10 in the overall best Progressive House tracks of the year), ‘Anja’ via his own Outta Limits (#70), ‘Samadhi’ (#104), ‘Inscape’ and a moody rework (with Matan Caspi) of Citizen Kain’s ‘Arcadia’. With a further EP currently scheduled for the end of the year, we foresee 2020 being another busy year for this man.
It's been a rollercoaster ride for Camelphat over the past few years. The now Grammy and Ivor Novello nominated artists have been on a release rampage following the huge international success of their breakthrough Defected release 'Cola' back in 2017. Their repertoire of hits kept growing with the likes of ‘Dopamine Machine’ and ‘Panic Room’ and fast forward to 2019 and we’ve seen them sitting pretty in our charts for most of the year, with at least one of their releases. As we approach the end of the year, it sees Camelphat with 3 major tracks in our overall top 200 of the year, all of which place in the upper reaches of the list. Their remix of Dirty Vegas’s ‘Days Go By’ breathed fresh life into a club classic and came in at #9 in the end of year chart, whilst their rework of Lee Foss’s ‘Crawl’ hit the #12. But it was the haunting yet infectious major label hit 'Be Someone', featuring the vocals of UK singer-songwriter Jake Bugg, that cemented their spot in this list and stole our #1 overall Progressive track of the year. It’s once again been another whirlwind year for the UK producers, and we’re excited to see them push themselves even further in 2020.

Make Default

Embed a player for
Copy the above code and paste it into your website or blog.
© 2002-2022 Traxsource, Inc.


Add New Cart