Album Only


"I am a storyteller. My songs say so."

Sióbhan, Sió, sio-ROI, The Twilight child, King is a storyteller, who uses music and poetry to tell her stories.

Music came to her by accident. The Ennerdale native was asked to sing in choirs throughout her childhood but she was never given any leads.

Writing was harder. She struggled writing and composing anything. At 16 when she wrote her first sound poem, at 17 her first song which “...was a complicated jumble of lyrics I had fit into a song I liked but couldn’t get a hold of because we couldn’t afford to buy music..." and she got the melody wrong.

She derives inspiration from the music itself, the world around her, books and often gravitates towards dark metaphors and images sighting pain as one of her greatest muses. Her style is a product of a love the music she was exposed to as a child.

She is one of the Founding members of, and lead vocalist for the house outfit called ‘Project 5, now known as Project X ’ who released their 5 track debut EP with Peng Africa in December 2014 called ‘Short Encounters,’ and their second EP Called ‘Eclipse,’ was released on the 17 August 2014 under the label Marubini Entertainment. She has also written for Marubini MusiQ’s ‘Take a deep breath,’ EP released under UK based Label FOMPUK in 2013. She has also worked with Luka_WeGoDeep on a various projects the first release by the duo called ‘Next to you,’ with reworks by Jazzuelle, Mark Hand and Keys Snow, released in October 2014, with ‘Next to you Part 2’ released in May 2016 with Reworks by Charles Webster, Pablo Martinez and Sió.

As a consequence of her work on ‘Next to you’ she was invited by the Soweto house duo Lilac Jeans to do a song called ‘This love’ released in April 2015 to a warm international and local response, scouring her invitations to work on music with Julian Gomes, Charles Webster. Her collaboration with Divided Souls & Samuri, lead to ‘North’ released in April 2016 to great reviews, and scouring the song a feature on the DEFECTED IN THE HOUSE IBIZA 2016 compilation.

She collaborated with Chicago based producer Gershon Jackson, director of OmniMusicSounds called 'How did we get here (Dj-Eclyps blacklight Afro mix)...' and ‘Naomi’s Song’ featuring Sió and Sheree Hicks, have also received warm responses from both local and international audiences, released for sale on all digital download sites.

Her debut Ep called 'Under the Winter,' is a moody mixture of experiments where she co-composed and co produced songs with Bongani 'Steven b' Mathebula, Earl 'Mr Bob' Edwards, of 'Project X' and Chino Chaplin Nhlapho, which was released on the 14th September 2015.

She has performed live with Charles Webster at the "CHURN BOTIQUE" music festival to great reviews, subsequently scoring a collaboration with KidFonque who saw her perform at the festival and invited her to write and perform vocals on his up and coming album with UK based Producer Dee Malice who go by the alias ‘rkls’. That collaboration scored her another with Cuebur, Who produced her single 800 Minutes released on Soul Candi at the end of 2016.

She is thrilled to be part of the “Late Dreamer,” Album by Jullian Gomez where she is featured on a track Called ‘1000 Memories,’ out worldwide on the 30th September 2016.

2017 was a big year for Sió, bringing a string of releases including ‘Hours go by’ by rkls, Chasing with Daev Martian out on the Beating Heart South Africa Series, I decide by SculpturedMusic, Criminal by Jaidene Veda and Pablo Martinez, Closer by Luka, Tokyo by Sio ft Omak out of Redbull Studios, as well as the 1000 Memories with an amazing remix package with remixes by Atjazz, Karisma, Fred Everything and Osunlade, Which also Won ‘Record Of The Year’ at the first South African Dance Music Awards. It has also seen her score amazing collaborations with the likes of Magic Number, Atjazz, Daev Martian and Revolution. She also place 9th on the Traxsoure
Yoruba Soul Mix (8:20)

Make Default

Embed a player for
Copy the above code and paste it into your website or blog.
© 2002-2019 Traxsource, Inc.

Add New Cart